Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Entryway feature wall with Pine moulding

amitisyours
Finding My Feet

Entryway feature wall with Pine moulding

We have a long entryway, since the time we moved in, the wall right at the entry, felt long and empty. Being entry way we wanted to do something special and elegant. This being our first home, and being IT engineer by profession, I have weekends mostly free. We were very enthusiastic to do DIY's at our new home and after couple of small DIY's we got more confident!

After brainstorming various ideas me and my wife finally zeroed on this Design. We wanted wood trims essentially to be part of the design, as it gives a 3D effect and uplifts the wall. While it looked easy on paper, we faced multiple challenge as DIY'er on all fronts be it alignment, measurements or choice of material. But over 3 weekends, multiple challenges and with numerous helps from Bunnings staffs at Hoppers and Tarneit stores, we could put this final master piece together. We never expected it to come out so good! Its even beyond our imagination and expectations ( from DIY'ers point of view :D) !

Steps

Step 1

• We first measured and divided the wall into 3 parts
  • Then we marked all the panel placing with pencil and used painters tape to mock the Pine moulding placement on the wall.
  • We then corrected all alignments, ensure all markings are measured with sprit level and laser level to ensure levels and Right angles are correct. Masking paints were really handy to fix any alignments.
  • Measure and cut one pine moulding at a time using Mitre box  and hand saw for mitre cuts at both ends, then remove that tape and using sprit level to ensure correct orientation, brad nailer nail the moulding.
  • Once all the moulding were attached, filled all the wood mitre edges with wood filler and cauked the wood panels and drywall edges.