Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What kind of grass do I have and what weed-killers can I use?

waltercflui
Finding My Feet

What kind of grass do I have and what weed-killers can I use?

Hi,I am totally new to gardening and I am puzzled by the kind of grass I have - it looks like buffalo but I am not so sure.

I also found some invading grass and weeds. I am interested in some weed and feed products but it looks they are for buffalo or non-buffalo? 🤔

Any recommendation for a newbie? 

Thank you so much! 🙂

IMG_0999.jpeg

IMG_1001.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: What kind of grass do I have and what weed-killers can I use?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @waltercflui. It's terrific to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about lawn care.

That looks like Buffalo to me. Regardless, as long as you use weed and feed products suitable for Buffalo, they'll be fine for all other grasses. I'd recommend you go with Yates 2.4L BuffaloPro Weed 'N' Feed Hose On Weed Killer. The spray-on version is convenient to apply, but we also have a granular: Yates 10kg BuffaloPro Weed 'n' Feed Granular Weed Killer. It will knock off the clover you've pictured and various other common lawn weeds.

Here's a helpful guide: How to weed your lawn.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Thanks so much @MitchellMc , will give a go!

I would see if the "feed" element would help the sparse area that I could see the soil. 

Or I should consider seeding later on once the weeds are gone? 🤔

It depends on how sparse the area is @waltercflui. You typically won't find buffalo seeds in a packet. Your best best would be to re-turf the area.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Thanks! The weed and feed hose start taking effect!