Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Need paving and creative ideas for backyard makeover

mattcouts
Just Starting Out

Need paving and creative ideas for backyard makeover

Hey team 

I’ve got a space (included in pictures) which is part concrete slab and part brick paving which is sat on mud (no base or sand).

I’d like to do something creative with the space but the first stage is to cover the area. I know that best practice is to use a base material, cover it with sand and then put pavers on top. Just curious whether to keep the bricks where they are and build on top or take them out and start from the mud layer… 

The other part of the project I’m thinking of running the Jasmine along the wall and replanting a 2m magnolia tree in the corner. Add some chairs or even an arbour of some kind and have a nice reading space. 

I’d welcome any feedback on those ideas! Note; I’ve never done anything like this before and ideally I’d do it myself (with the help of a Father in law)…

IMG_9883.jpeg

JacobZ
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Need paving and creative ideas for backyard makeover

Hi @mattcouts,

Thank you for sharing your project plans and welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community, it is fantastic to have you with us.

I'd suggest starting by drawing out a basic bird's eye view layout of the space with some measurements. Having some very basic plans on paper often gets you thinking creatively and will help to organise your ideas. Uploading a photo of your plan will also certainly help our members offer their best advice.

With any paving project, you are best to start with a clean slate. I'd suggest removing what is there and starting fresh, that way you can adjust the heights, add your base and add drainage to the space if required. Check out How to install garden drainage and How To Prepare And Lay a Base For Pavers for some guidance.