Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to rebuild brick retaining wall?

Cherry
Finding My Feet

How to rebuild brick retaining wall?

I have an old brick retaining wall, which I removed some and need to fill in again. Quote to re brick was expensive, so thought I would tackle it myself. I intend to cover all the wall in corten steel as have this in other parts of garden. Wondering if I can use 

Brighton Masonry 390 x 190 x 90mm Besser Blocks instead of bricks, as would be quicker & need less. Area is only 3m x 1.7m i need to use the besser bricks ch the corten cladding over all the wall. Any hints? Advice welcome.

I have no experience in bricking, but presume I would need to lay a concrete base, trench for blocks.

IMG_0352.jpeg IMG_0353.jpeg 

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: How to rebuild brick retaining wall?

Hi @Cherry 

I have faith  in you to  rebuild that wall .    If  I can offer some simple  steps.

Or you can simply sit the bricks  behind the steel and garden dirt will lock them into place eventually. :smile:

All your really need is some sand and cement premixed  bags x 5 should be enough for your project. mix it by hand (small shovel  garden trowel  in a  small wheel barrow or large plastic bucket)  Hammer, lump of timber as a straight edge.

WEAR Gloves so you can touch the concrete mix at need.

Looks like you have in the old wall 2 levels of common bricks I would use the same  bricks to match the  wall height easier. Also the spacing between  the old brick work and  new will perfectly match standard brick sizes no cutting required.   Bessers I lov  em but different dimentions to regular bricks so use common bricks yes you will need two layers or  three if  i am not seeing right and they will line up all going well.

Enough bricks (See the old part of wall and count them up to fit your space)