Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do I stop water from getting into my new art studio?

Kel1975
Finding My Feet

How do I stop water from getting into my new art studio?

Hi 👋🏻  I’m new to this Bunnings forum. I live in the Shoalhaven area which was recently on the news due to massive weather/ flooding events we’ve had over the last couple of weeks. 

My question 🙋🏻‍♀️ is:

How can I stop water getting into my new art studio when we have these types of weather events? I live in a flood zone area which isn’t ideal. I’ve had my shed fully lined with waterproof barrier sheeting, then fully insulated and sealed with sealant and spray foam. I’ve even sealed up the expansion gap in the slab and then used waterproof paint they use in showers to create a membrane. I’ve tiled the front section off the entry way. The issue is the sliding door is on the slab. I have no idea 🤷🏻‍♀️ on how to prevent it from coming through the sliding glass door.
I thought 💭 about building a two foot high retaining wall around the entire perimeter of the inside of the shed including across the entrance way out of bricks and concrete. Then filling the rest of the floor with wooden pallets to raise the internal flooring. Then covering that with floor sheets and then put carpet squares over the top. 

I realise this will be a pain to get furniture in and out of the shed especially as the opening or the sliding door will be restricted by the new sub flooring. 

I also had another idea of trying to buy a cafe type pull down roller door, you know the security type ones the shop use. I still think the water would get in though. Please help. I’m lost at what the best solution is besides moving. I can’t afford to do that. This is the 3rd time in 3.5yrs this flooding has occurred. I’ve spent a lot of money putting in power for lights, fan, PowerPoints etc. I don’t want to use fill it with stuff and let it sit there unused.