Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to seal gap between house and guttering?

Sirena
Finding My Feet

How to seal gap between house and guttering?

Hi there, what would be the best way to seal this gap between the roof of my pergola and the guttering of the house roof?

It pours through during heavy showers and

I'd ike to waterproof it to have a sitting area out there.

I've attached a photo looking up to show size of gap. Happy to use some sort or whatever, it's a very old house and not quite ready for big Reno's just yet. 

Go easy on me 🤣 first time poster and total novice. Thanks.

IMG20240910135545.jpg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to seal gap between house and guttering?

Hello @Sirena 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's sensational to have you join us and thanks for sharing your question about sealing the gap between your pergola and gutter.

One way to cover the gap is to place angled flashing above the join where your gutter and pergola meet. The flashing can be attached using blind rivets in combination with Selleys 290ml Grey Storm Waterproof Gutter And Roof Sealant. When the rain falls it will fall on the flashing and get redirected towards the fall of the pergola. 

Another option is to install a plastic PVC gutter close to the gap. In this manner any water that gets through will be caught by the PVC gutter and directed to the fall of the gutter. I also suggest having a look at this discussion - How to close gap between pergola and gutter? by @jimmyr999.

Let me call on our experienced members @Nailbag and @Dave-1 for their recommendations. 

If you have any other questions we can help with, please let us know.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Hi Eric, thank you so much for your advice, I appreciate it and will check out the other post.

Cheers, Sirena

Dave-1
Community Megastar

Good Evening @Sirena