Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to paint an outdoor basketball court?

karl07
Finding My Feet

How to paint an outdoor basketball court?

Hi, for a 10m x 6m concrete area to be used as a basketball free throw area, rather than putting basketball court tiles (which is pricey), I am thinking of painting it, as an alternative, with acrylic paint with different colours for free throw lane and rest of the court.

Is there a recommendation for the paint (type and brand) to be used and the tools required to do it myself (a complete beginner)? What do I use to prevent the paint for getting on the edge of the retaining wall and grass? Is it difficult to do it myself to achieve a relatively high standard in look and feel? 

Thank you.

Basketball court.jpg

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to paint an outdoor basketball court?

Sounds like a fun project @karl07.

I think my concern would be ensuring that it is a non-slip coating. Let me tag our resident Bunnings D.I.Y. experts in @EricL and @JacobZ for their thoughts.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Hi @karl07 

I definatly think you  can do this job yourself  the trick to make it look super good is to properly mask your lines so the look neat and smooth but it dosnt have to have to be perfection,  Masking  tape will curve if you apply it cm by cm around the curve.  Mark the  court lines in pencil or crayon so you can masking tape to it.

Any little paint mistakes  can  be fixed  with a little more paint with a small artist brush once the main areas painted and dried.

Mask your wall in thick painters masking  tape to keep it clean.  Dosnt matter if  grass is painted it will grow out. But when it matters you can use any old flattened card board  box and just move it along as you paint covering the grass or  anything at all i use old  bed sheets.