Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to set up an automatic irrigation system for watering?

KSB
Getting Established

How to set up an automatic irrigation system for watering?

Hi I’m an absolute Newbie at this and keen to do a DIY set up of an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBeds & Pots some on the deck. Will appreciate help from the community starting from absolute basics. This is for a new Build where the wooden deck goes in Next week and grab the following week. 

cheers

IMG_8716.jpeg

KSB
Getting Established

Re: How does an absolute Newbie set up an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBe...

Many thanks EricL I have three taps with decent water flow but as I put in the WiFi water controller dropped the pressure significantly  I’ve drawn out a plan and will post it here shortly for your advise or from others. 

KSB
Getting Established

Re: How does an absolute Newbie set up an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBe...

That’s some great info mate Pretty much what I was looking for. I’ve drawn up a plan and will post it here in a cpl o hours for comments and recommendations. Never really thought of using the natural bend of the pipe I think it’s a great idea cause besides saving on costs will probably maintain better water pressure too as a circular bend will be better than a elbow 😁

KSB
Getting Established

IMG_9068.jpeg

R4addZ
Getting Established

Hi @KSB 

Not sure who you were replying to but if you are short on time to get these in before it is too late, use as large bore pipes as you are comfortable with installing. If you need to just use retic pipes rather than put in bigger pipes (stormwater type) that give you future choices then yes 20mm at least and poly pipe will do as it is the easiest for you to work with. PVC pipe (like conduit pipe) is more robust but harder for an amatuer to work with.