Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a crazy paver wall and garden edging?

darcyDIY
Just Starting Out

How to build a crazy paver wall and garden edging?

Hi,

Looking at doing a crazy paver wall/garden edge - see attached rough inspos 

Fair to say I'm new to this so after some guidance with how start as I'll be literally starting from the ground up

Understand it'll take a bit of work and know how but with how good it looks willing to put in the hard yards

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated and will be keen to provide updates and final end product once done and dusted

Thanks 👍Screenshot_20240914-190149.png

Screenshot_20240914-190516.pngScreenshot_20240914-192307.png

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Crazy Paver Wall / Garden Edging

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @darcyDIY. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about crazy paving walls.

It looks like you’ve got some great inspiration to work with. Do you have any specific questions to start? That would be really helpful for our members when providing advice. The bulk of this project will involve building a solid and stable structure for the pavers, so knowing more about your plan will help. Were you thinking of creating a freestanding wall, or perhaps something like a garden bed as shown in your inspiration images?

In general, the key steps will include preparing and compacting the ground, then building a timber frame to suit your desired structure. After that, you’ll want to clad the frame with fibrecement boards to create a suitable surface for the pavers. Once the structure is ready, you’ll break the pavers to achieve that ‘crazy’ pattern, adhere them with a strong exterior tile adhesive, and finally grout the gaps to complete the look. It's a bit of work, but with patience, the result will be well worth it.