Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a bush cabin?

bianca76
Just Starting Out

How to build a bush cabin?

Hi guys, my name is Bianca and I’m going to start to build a very small shed upon some land. I’ve never done this before and going slowly .  I’m starting in stages and am building a 4 metre long x 3 metre wide dwelling . Can someone please tell me how many

1) timber beams and what sizes / types o need to build the box and joists for the floor also what size posts to get to lift it just off the ground? The site is level. 
2 ) How many Concrete pads I need to buy for a Shed this size? I’m not sure of how far I need to span them apart? 

3) what type of ply I need to buy and how many sheets to fit this shed? 

My father is nearly 80 so I can’t go to him any more and bother him but as a female I’m very unsure but would like to build this myself! Thanks in advance !! 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to build a bush cabin?

Hello @bianca76 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's sensational to have you join us and thanks for sharing your question about building a bush cabin.

Before you begin your project, I propose looking at your local council's rules and regulations regarding building a bush cabin. I suspect that there are height and size restrictions that must be adhered to when planning a cabin. I then recommend engaging the services of a draftsperson, you can give them the specifications you are wanting, and they will draw a plan that includes the concrete base and timber sizes to be used for framing.