Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Where to place a shower rail?

luigilovesbacon
Just Starting Out

Where to place a shower rail?

Hi all,

Looking to install a vertical shower rail in my shower - what's the best commonly placed locations (i.e. do I need to avoid any particular area, in case I clash into pipes)?

I'm not very experienced with this, but use a studfinder and looks like there's something on the vertical line in line with the taps - is that the timber behind in the wall (and therefore I should install it here) - or is it pipes, therefore I should avoid? 

Thanks!

bathroom1.jpg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Where to place a shower rail?

Hello @luigilovesbacon 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's sensational to have you join us, and thanks for sharing your question about installing a shower rail.

If your stud finder can detect metal, then odds are those are the copper pipes in your wall, and they are best to be avoided. If you've detected a timber stud in the middle, then that would be the ideal spot to mount the shower rail. Generally speaking, the shower rail can be mounted through the tile and wet wall plaster. Since it is just the shower rail and not a hand hold, it does not need to be a weight bearing installation.    

But if you are unsure and do not wish to take chances, I recommend engaging the services of a professional handy person to mount your shower rail. 

Here is a handy step-by-step guide: How to use a stud finder.

Let me call on our experienced members @Dave-1 and @Nailbag for their recommendations.

If you have any other questions we can help with, please let us know.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Dave-1
Community Megastar

Good morning @luigilovesbacon 

From your descriotion it sounds like its a fair chance of pipes so would avoid the area vertically in line with the taps.