Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix uneven stain and varnish?

varunsankar
Just Starting Out

How to fix uneven stain and varnish?

IMG_3467.jpeg

IMG_3470.jpeg

IMG_3469.jpeg

IMG_3468.jpeg

IMG_3466.jpeg

IMG_3467.jpeg

    

Hi

I tried to use the 

Bondall Monocel 250ml Walnut Stain And Varnish on pine timber. But it looks dirty and uneven. This is my very first project. Can I get some help in why it’s like that and how to fix it please? Below are the details 

Sanding: 80, 120, 180, 220

Timber: Untreated pine https://www.bunnings.co.nz/40mm-x-18mm-x-1-2m-untreated-d4s-dressing-grade-pine_p0293985

Stain and Varnish: 

Bondall Monocel 250ml Walnut Stain And Varnish 

https://www.bunnings.co.nz/bondall-monocel-250ml-walnut-stain-and-varnish_p1580823

Attached images after second coat. The first coat was a mix with 15% turps 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to fix uneven stain and varnish?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @varunsankar. It's terrific to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about varnishing timber.

I'm sorry to hear that your first project hasn’t turned out as expected. From looking at the images, it seems the uneven and dirty appearance could be caused by a combination of factors. Pine can absorb stain at different rates, particularly untreated pine, which often leads to blotchiness. Softer areas of the wood soak up more stain, while harder areas absorb less, creating an uneven look. Additionally, applying the coats too thickly may have caused the stain and varnish to pool in certain areas, especially around the corners, resulting in darker patches. This is quite noticeable in the second image, where there’s visible build-up.