Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to set up an automatic irrigation system for watering?

KSB
Getting Established

How to set up an automatic irrigation system for watering?

Hi I’m an absolute Newbie at this and keen to do a DIY set up of an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBeds & Pots some on the deck. Will appreciate help from the community starting from absolute basics. This is for a new Build where the wooden deck goes in Next week and grab the following week. 

cheers

IMG_8716.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How does an absolute Newbie set up an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBe...

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @KSB. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about installing an irrigation system.

You might like to start by reading through these helpful guides: How to plan an irrigation system, How to install a drip irrigation system and How to install an irrigation system. They'll provide a heap of information that will benefit you. 

Next, I recommend you start the planning stage and the Gardena My Garden Planner is an excellent tool for this. It allows you to plan your pipework and where you'll need to distribute water.

I also suggest spending some time on the Pope irrigation website to familiarise yourself with the types of drippers/sprayers and weeping hoses. It's important to understand the various methods of irrigating. They have some fantastic D.I.Y guides and a self-guided selection process for all your components.

Once you have taken a look at the guides and planner above let us know if you have some questions that our helpful members can assist with.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
KSB
Getting Established

Re: How does an absolute Newbie set up an automatic irrigation system for watering grass,gardenBe...