Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to prepare backyard clay soil for laying new lawn?

Mickey03
Finding My Feet

How to prepare backyard clay soil for laying new lawn?

IMG_3617.jpeg

IMG_3615.jpeg

IMG_3616.jpeg

Hi trust all is well with you guys! 

I am a  newbie here and looking forward to learn a lot of DIY stuff from your experience.  

We have recently moved to a newbuilt house and planning to do my own back yard. 
Our plan is is to have a natural grass in the backyard. The current condition of the ground is a bit hard clay soil with weeds. 

Are you able to guide me on a step by step  process on how to prepare the  backyard surface on laying new lawn including if recommended to have agpipe drainage thru out? 

i have bought necessary begginer tool such, shovel, soil spreader, manual soil compactor and shears. 

Thank you so much and looking forward for your advise. 🙏

JacobZ
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to prepare backyard clay soil for laying new lawn?

Hi @Mickey03,

Thank you for your question and welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community, it is fantastic to have you with us.

Having a look at your back yard, it looks to be in fairly good condition, but there are certainly things you can do to increase its ability to grow new turf. 

Can you advise if you've had any significant downpours that create pooling in the back yard? 

I ask because if the water is pooling on the surface of the soil, breaking up the clay will help with drainage, and it is in your best interest for the water to penetrate into the soil as opposed to being carried away. If there is an obvious area where water is pooling and could potentially cause erosion in the future, you could install ag line and have it plumbed into a stormwater outlet, but having it drain away may not 100% be in your best interests.