Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Apple tree leaves turning brown and yellow

bergamotblack
Getting Established

Apple tree leaves turning brown and yellow

Hi everyone,

This is my first time caring for a garden and it has mature fruit trees in there which I am worried about killing with my brown thumb.

The apple tea produced a small crop of apples about 1-2 months ago and I noticed that some of the leaves near the top are turning dark and almost purple, with brown spots. Some leaves at the bottom are showing up with yellow veins. All leaves were dark green previously.
Apple tree leaves turning dark with brown spotsApple tree leaves turning dark with brown spotsapple tree leaves turning yellow near the main stemapple tree leaves turning yellow near the main stem

The Mandarin tree procued a HUGE crop of fruits about a month ago and now its leaves are turning yellow.
Mandarin tree leaves turning yellowMandarin tree leaves turning yellow

I water regularly, gave the trees some seaweed solution a couple of weeks ago, and just fertilised with RichGro Black Marvel Fruit & Citrus Food Liquids. Not sure if I did the right thing? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Also, should I be spraying food-safe pesticides and how often should I do it? I have another orange tree which is currently fruiting and I am not sure if using pesticides will affect the orange tree as these 3 trees are only about a metre apart.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Leaves turning brown and yellow

Hi @bergamotblack,

Applying fertiliser was a smart move, as yellowing leaves often indicate a nutrient deficiency. Additionally, ensure you check the soil's moisture levels and adjust your watering schedule so the soil can dry out slightly between waterings.