Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Tiles needed for laundry & renovating shower

Newbie321
Getting Established

Tiles needed for laundry & renovating shower

IMG_6879.jpeg

IMG_6879.jpeg

Hi, total beginner here! What kind of tiles should I get for a laundry area please? There are so many types and I need to be educated! 

I’m replacing my old laundry cabinet so all the tiles have gotta go but they are old so I probably won’t find matching ones. What would you recommend? The entire bathroom has similar tiles too. Perhaps something that matches the wall paint? 

2nd question:  

A previous plumber put a hole in my bathroom after fixing a pipe leak from the other side of the wall and did a runner. So I was left with hole which I patched up with sealant. Any suggestions to fix this? Someone suggested glueing a white shower sheeting (not sure what it’s called) over the current tiles and waterproofing it.  Would you recommend it? I can’t afford a full retiling of the bathroom so a budget-friendly reno idea will be much appreciated! Thanks in advance! 

IMG_2391.jpeg

IMG_2390.jpeg

IMG_2429.jpeg

IMG_2430.jpeg

PlumbMaster-Zee
Building a Reputation

Re: Tiles needed for laundry & renovating shower

Hi Newbie321,

For the laundry area, considering durability, water resistance, and aesthetics are key. Here are a few suggestions:

1. Porcelain Tiles: These are highly durable, water-resistant, and come in various styles and colors. They are perfect for high-traffic areas like laundry rooms.
2. Ceramic Tiles: Another good option, ceramic tiles are slightly less durable than porcelain but are still a great choice for laundry rooms. They also come in a wide range of designs.
3. Vinyl Tiles: If you're looking for a more budget-friendly option, vinyl tiles can mimic the look of ceramic or porcelain while being easier to install and maintain.