Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to cap unused open sink pipes and water inlet?

housie
Getting Established

How to cap unused open sink pipes and water inlet?

Hi newbie here! We moved into our place and found some unused open pipes and water taps under the laundry sink, and trying to cover them up. We know a washing machine was removed from the laundry (they had two in there, we only have one) and so some water inlets and pipe may have become redundant in the process. Hoping to get some advice from the community 🙏

In the photo:

1. Open end of S trap - is there any cap for this? Or any other way to close it?

2. Small open pipe - this spurts out water and floods the cupboard when water gets poured down the sink above so need to close. Is there a cap for this?

3. Bottom half of cold water inlet - you can see I had tried to seal this with a blanking cap, thread tap and fibre washer, but it still leaks. Done it twice already, very sore from being in the tight space with no room to move or turn that wrench... The same setup has worked for the hot water inlet, so not sure what's wrong. Any ideas to fix it? Or just try to redo it again?

20240719_201725.jpg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to cap unused open sink pipes and water inlet

Hello @housie 

Welcome to the Bunnings workshop community. It's sensational to have you join us and thanks for sharing your question about your sink pipes.

Let me recommend some parts that will cover your exposed pipe work.

That should cover all the open and leaking sections of your sink pipes.

If you need further assistance, please let me know.

Eric 

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
housie
Getting Established

Thanks for your quick response @EricL ! We'll try out your advice and recommendations.